top of page
Search
  • Jason D Barna

Loony Lawns to Steam?

Hello Folks,


So up until this year I had paused my game development back 2019 with the intention to move on from Construct 2 to move on to an engine with better portability which hopefully bring my games to Nintendo Switch and other platforms. I ended up settling on Game Maker Studio 2 although that still required learning the new engine (which I'm still working on). Although in that time I had acquired a job that ate up 80% of my free time which held things up. On top of that I got denied once again in 2020 Nintendo Switch dev access which discouraged me from even feeling motivated to work on anything. Then i decided to tinker more within Construct 2 ,but a glitch in one of the updates screwed up how my game's were presented in full screen mode and i couldn't seem to fix it. So all this led up to me completely putting game development on hold. Throughout this year though I kept pondering different ideas again including a revamp of Booty Diver ,or even a prequel/sequel (which is what eventually led to it's successor Plunder Blunder) then I started tinkering with old projects and previously released games like Loony Lawns. I discovered after 2+ years what was wrong with those builds that was causing the issue. So I fixed it and this opened up a new realm of possibilities on what else I could make.


Which led me to a conclusion. Considering I couldn't get dev access for Switch which is the system I really want to hit I would still need a publisher/porting partner so what does it matter if I make the game(s) in Construct 2. This is what led to me pursuing making Plunder Blunder in Construct 2 ,but this isn't the only thing I'm working on. Steam (PC) never got a release of Loony Lawns when it hit Xbox Creator's Program back in 2018. I had previously announced it as a platform but due to poor Booty Diver sales on Steam (thanks to being buried especially by Cuphead) I never finished the port then the full screen issue completely halted the port. So I looked back at the code to revive the port now that I fixed the full screen bug ,but I found another issue. I HATE THE ART ,AND MUSIC I DID FOR LOONY LAWNS. It's not representative of me as a pixel artist/game dev anymore (one of the same reasons Booty Diver is getting a reboot as Plunder Blunder). So I went back and started tinkering with the art making it more inline with the art I make now ,and I put together revamped pixel art graphics that look much better than the original game. So the end result is Loony Lawns will be released on Steam in the near future (and hopefully someone can port/publish it to other consoles) ,but it will no longer be known as simply Loony Lawns. The new version of the game will be called "Loony Lawns: ReCut". Here is a sample screenshot of how the new version is shaping up. (Look in our released games listings to see the original)



As you can see the art still retains a NES feel (especially because now it is using a NES color palette) ,but the art is more refined ,and Murray now has a more cartoony look giving him more personality. As of now I do not have an official release date for this version of the game as I am working on this in tandem with Plunder Blunder ,but stay tuned for a release date and price. Leave some comments on what you think of the new version of the game.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page